Love is Bought Silence

I don’t know who I was fooling.
Your touch is comfort, but I’m still recoiling.
That sweet southern accent, reminded me of
what I never knew, what I always wanted somehow.
But you and your faith and devotion to God is not for me.
I see the light of untold stars and a sun burning the night,
spinning around not from a plan but because that’s how it goes.
A kiss is the seal you put on my mouth so that it wouldn’t speak.
So I turn you away. In the dark I can say the blasphemous truth.
Let my dreams set fire to the night and set fire to the soul!
Let my dreams bleed and fuck and swing from the obscene moon itself!
Love is silence bought with care, the blade that bleeds with mother’s milk.
So I won’t kiss you goodbye, but turn in silence back to the wilderness.
Let me be alone if to stay I must flatter your fears, be talked down to
if I don’t buy the magic cure all and the sky bound paradise you sell
like laundry detergent or pain killers. Better to be alone than a mouthpiece.
Love is the shame that keeps you silent. I want none of it now.
Leave a Reply

