Glass Coffin

Glass coffin in the woods, clean and sparkling, with inlaid gold.
She sleeps inside, still and dreaming and untouched by the world.
If I kiss her, the sorrows will come, and the loss, and a true death.
She sleeps, and I watch over her, adore her, keep out the wolves.
If I kiss her, there will be love and life and a true dream in waking.
I want her perfect and holy, so unlike me, so unlike me.
The days pass and swirl and stars go on and on and the moon weeps.
This life has broken me. My mind has turned on me. She is perfect.
If I kiss, there will be life, bleeding and sweet.
A kiss.

Leave a Reply

