A Women’s Voice

As the sun rises, I want only to sleep.
A slumber lightless and ever so deep.
The demons ran through all night long.
I tried to soothe myself with her song.
The app plays the soft tunes so sweet.
I dream of a pretty girl I want so to meet.
If I were in her arms would the demons go.
Love is a stranger, I might not ever know.
The siren call of leaving for the dark moon,
the siren call of leaving this life too soon,
calls out in my insomniac haze and coldness.
Is staying here, hoping, foolishness or boldness?
A song comes on, a women’s voice, a song tender.
Another day comes, another day of hopes so slender.
That women’s voice reaches into me, calls me back,
as if she’s saying: “Stay, don’t go, you can’t take it back.”
Leave a Reply

