Epitaph

As my epitaph I want:
“Human, all too human”.
So full of bitterness and spit
but tender and giving of grace.
So easy to raise in anger
yet forgiving of the hurt.
So easily made to mistrust
yet so willing to think the best.
So mad with loneliness and isolation,
yet always welcoming of those I met.
All wrapped in angels wings and
tearing at the sky with my demons horn,
all lust and avarice yet giving of love.
Confused and contradictory testimony
of who I am, what I will ever be in this life.
It’s noon at midnight, and I find paradise
in a dreamless sleep.

Leave a Reply

