Southbound To Miami

The last exit home is coming up, just on the right.
The night has fallen, and there are pinprick stars.
There is a sad song playing, about love gone wrong.
I don’t want to go home. There’s nothing for me there.
 I dream of flattening the accelerator, heading into darkness.
I dream of sunny Miami and beautiful women and good times.
I dream leaving the weight I carry, drop in the ocean, let it go.
I turn off onto my exit, head home.
 The headlights catch the front windows. There’s no one to disturb.
The sad love song cuts off with the engine. I know how it ends, anyway.
The night is cool with the first of spring, things being born again.
Yet nothing changes, and I am tired, and want only to sleep.
Leave a Reply

