Bonfire Night

The bonfire burns bright
on this darkly hallowed night.
Burning to call the spirits back
from that dark river so black.
Burning to see their faces again
and to kiss away every lingering sin.
To see those eyes so full of devotion
and tears silver with devout emotion.
I wait for her by this fire, the beacon home.
Come back from that far place, no longer roam.
I search the night for a pristine burial gown
and that long black hair let to cascade down.
Come back for this night, until morning takes you.
Come back to my side, I have so bitterly missed you.
My love, find this fire that spits sparks upon the sky.
Let me kiss your lips, hold you hand, before I too die.
Come to me, while their still darkness and starlight.
Come to me, smiling, in this cold, nourishing moonlight.
Come to me.

Leave a Reply

