Chasing A Kiss

“Tag!” You cry. “You’re it!”
And you run into the woods,
 white dress stark against
 the dark blue twilight.
I chase you, following
 the slash of white
 in the darkness.
My heart racing,
 my chest fluttering,
 I try to find you.
I hear your laughter.
 I spot you from
 the corner of my eye.
Into the forest as
 the night falls
 ever and ever darker.
If I can catch you,
 if I win the game,
 you will kiss me.
I run and run and run.
 I almost catch you.
 You’re still out of reach.
I can never touch you.
 I will never kiss you.
 You never finish a dream.
Leave a Reply

