Empress of Heaven

Came for escape, for a laugh or two.
But she looks like her, the one I love,
who doesn’t care for me.
 A knot in my chest, a sharp cold in my heart,
laughing at the jokes, but her eyes are yours,
her beauty that devilish dream of the other.
 The other, the queen of sorrows, brokeness.
That girl on the screen, is not like her, is sweet,
but being the other’s doppleganger spoils it all.
 I try to wash away that face afterwards, with angry
music and a fire to burn away the images, and love,
and all the damning things I ever wanted.
Leave a Reply

