Swimming Pool Time 2

I came for him, I loved him.

               But this house, this world,

               Is not my home.

 

               I came for him, I loved him.

               But I’m stuck in this place,

               And his kisses don’t heal me.

 

               I remember the warmth of him

               As I wrapped my tail around him

               In the blue warm Pacific.

 

               I remember salty kisses and laughter

               And a dream of being together forever

               In a city of angels.

 

               I left it all for him, and now I have nothing,

               And him holding me, kissing me, loving me,

               Can’t end my mourning for home.

 

               The deep blue waters, the crystalline kingdom,

               Palaces from time out of mind, my ancient kin,

               And now I have only this swimming pool.

 

               And I look up at a clear twilight sky, burning bright,

               And float in warm and harsh and heavy water,

               And almost feel weightless and free again.

 

               Almost………

Leave a Reply

