An Autumn On The Plain

Hotel room, just me and you, an autumn on the plain.

               Awake as I spoon against your back, you so peaceful.

               I kiss your head, stroke your hair. At peace, so warm.

 

               I never thought it could be like this again.

 

               Morning cold, unwashed light poking through curtains.

               You are warm, soft and in love with me. We shared so much.

               I don’t know what is coming. But I hope for the first time.

 

               I never thought it could be like this again.

 

               Soon I will have to go. A call has gone out. Is it worthwhile?

               I kiss you awake. You smile to shame the sun. We make love.

               Kiss and cuddle and tell secrets. A perfect place for a moment.

 

               I never thought it could be like this again.

Leave a Reply

