The Angel Who Came And Stayed With Me

It’s the middle of the night, awake in the dark,

               Staring out the window and the sleeping world.

 

               I heard the whisper of something, something good,

               Long ago, and I can’t seem to hear it now, in the dark.

 

               Exhausted, tears don’t come, and the fear strangles

               All the light, all the hope, all the better dreams to come.

 

               You reach out to me, pull me back into bed, kiss me,

               “There is love still. There is us still. There is light still.”

 

               I fall into your arms, listening to your heart, wild, free.

               Because you love me, because you are love, I go on.

 

               Holding onto hope and the cleansing tenderness,

               The dream that it can all be beautiful and light again.

 

               I dream your dream my love, I dream your dream.

               I dream of the angel who came, and stayed with me.

Leave a Reply

