Athens

Athens, but not the one my goddess gave,

and there’s no wisdom in going back there,
sweet, wild summers are lost, even to the young.
I knew the river, the muddy waters, overgrown banks.
She was an Atlantean queen on her rock, sunning,
demanding my tribute of devotion.
Thick woods as green as the queen’s eyes.
The mouth to hell called and called.
I didn’t go until she was lost to the moon.
Underwater, we were weightless and open to angels.
Murky depths called up Lucifer’s Mermaid Court.
A pact that gave me my first kiss.
Athens on the hill, the light lost in daylight,
the magic sold out and returned to sender.
I can only reclaim innocence when I’m a victim.

JH
Reply all
Leave a Reply

