Wolves and Demons

So cold in winter, but you are here.
The roads cannot be passed in the snow
and in the dark.
The stars are more numerous than our wishes.
The moon hides her face behind black velvet.
The snow catches the window and the glint
of candlelight beside your bed.
You sleep, at peace.
I dream, awake.
The fire cackles like a witch as the wood pops.
The amber and crimson flames devour the dark.
You are here.
I feel the cold in my bones, in my blood.
The stars are a halo around the sky.
I watch them spin around her head as night passes.
It is cold, and is dark, and we are here alone.
But I will watch the night for the wolves and demons.
For ghosts that have hounded you here.
I feel the cold in my bones, in my blood.
The night is long and howling in my heart.
But you are here.

Leave a Reply

