Séance By The Ocean

It’s the first of September, chill creeping in,
stars gleam without a care as we now begin.
The woman, behind her dark hair, whispers:
“The angels, demons, are all estranged sisters.”

I brought the Angel Michael medal she gave.
One of her many treasured I made sure to save.
The woman clutches into in her tight fist, sighs.
There are only so many unclaimed miracles in the sky.

The woman’s eyes flutter, as the waves crash, recede.
I have learned no escape in drunkenness, sweetest mead.
I need to hear her voice, say goodbye, say: “I love you, still.”
With whatever angels listen, I will gladly make a deal.

The woman’s eyes open, and it’s her that gazes out her eyes.
My heart flutters and breaks, in this bittersweet surprise.
I take in a moment, as a smile comes, conspirital and wild.
The unburned spirit of a woman who kept freedom of a child.

“I love you.” I say, tears flowing know. “I love you. I see you in stars.”
“I see you in old Grail Romances. I see you in the sanctuary that was ours.”
And the smile becomes wider, but sadder, and I she kisses my cheek.
A sweet eternity passes between us, no need now for us to speak.

And then she is gone, and the woman is back, and the medal is gone.
Her empty fist opens, and she strokes my cheek, so far from warm dawn.
I stay on the beach as the woman leaves, watching stars and ocean churn.
What I do now, what I can dream now, what love remains, so difficult to discern.

Leave a Reply

